64°F
Sponsored by

Tax debtors could have license suspended

As part of the executive budget signed into law earlier this year, those owing over $10,000 in past due New York State taxes will have their NYS driver's license suspended.
As part of the executive budget signed into law earlier this year, those owing over $10,000 in past due New York State taxes will have their NYS driver's license suspended.

CPA Tom Walpole discussed the motive behind the new idea Monday morning on News 8 at Sunrise.  "Money, money, money," he said.  The state anticipates collecting $26 million the first year and $6 million in subsequent years.

Initially, the state will send out 16,000 notices to delinquent taxpayers.  They will have 60 days to either pay or set up a payment plan.  After that will come the "last chance" notice which provides for an additional 15 days before the person's license is suspended.

Driving with a suspended license is punishable by a fine of $200-$500 plus a surcharge and the possibility of 30 days in jail or probation.  Repeat offenders face stiffer fines and could lose their vehicle.  Restricted licenses may be granted for people to drive to and from work.

Other states such as California, Maryland, Massachusetts, Louisiana, South Carolina and Connecticut have similar laws.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus